RSS Feed

knitting project bags

Posted on

I have just joined an Aussie swap on ravelry that involves making a project bag. I promised that I would dig up some suitable tutorials and links.

U-handbag (UK) is a great resource for making bags and it has a great post on bagmaking for newbies.

Nicole Mallalieu is an Australian designer that focuses on hand made bags. Her site has lots of great patterns and supplies and her blog is full of tips, techniques and tutorials. Another good Aussie selling hand bag supplies is tall poppy craft.

Here are 5 of my favourite free patterns that I think would be suitable.

From all people quilt the grab bag pattern (pdf file)

I have made a few of these and they fit a one skein or sock project very comfortably.

Patchyapple has an excellent free tutorial for a boxy bag. It think these fit a small or sock project perfectly.

Martha Stewart has a tote bag using bias binding to hold it all together.

This is the one I made from that pattern. It is good because it can easily fit a magazine or pattern sheets in the side pockets. It is a little tricky to get a hang of using the bias binding though.


This pyramid purse is a free pattern at Living Creatively. It is quite small but I think it could be sized up to make a decent sock project bag. This is very similar to the ever popular sunny-boy project bag.

For a good tutorial for a standard lined tote bag not so fancy nancy has a tutorial for a beach/market bag.

This could easily be made to any size and it has great step by step photos.  The steps to make this bag are fairly simple and is an excellent starting point to make any type of tote – eg add pockets or shorten the handle, or make two handles.

And if you want a tutorial to make absolutely anything go to oneprettything.com. She has a list of tutorials of things to make for crafters and it includes pin cushions, needle rolls, sewing machine covers, post office bags (great for an etsy seller), covered tape measures and cloth labels. Well worth a look.

I hope this helps.

13 responses »

  1. Awesome! Thank you so much for this!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for these – you know how much I love making bags and these are fantastic…. I can’t wait to make that Pyramid bag in about 7 different sizes.

    Reply
  3. Your site is amazing, I have spent most of the morning looking over it instead of working…. Shhh…. I wont tell if you wont tell.

    I am just starting out with many projects like yours…

    I look forward to seeing more of your crafts..

    Lisa

    Reply
  4. Thanks so much!

    I’m in the swap and have got a squillion new ides/thoughts/plans running around my head now!!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the tute tips. I’m looking forward to getting back into crafting very soon and have booked marked these.
    Thanks again
    Libby

    Reply
  6. Great post! I don’t even knit and I want to make some of these!

    Reply
  7. Thanks so much for doing this, love it! Cant wait to get started with this swap:)

    Reply
  8. I can’t seem to access the grab bag pdf link, keep getting 404 error. Is there some way else to get it? I love how it looks. Thanks, Mary Alma

    Reply
  9. These are great but your first bag link doesn’t work. I found the new link for you it’s here:

    http://www.allpeoplequilt.com/quarterlychallenge/APQ_QtrlyChal3.pdf

    Namaste’

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Knitting Bags « Lisa’s Playground

  11. Just what I was looking for!! Thanks for gathering all this info together.

    Reply
  12. Pingback: Knitting Bags » Its all about my thoughts and dreams....

  13. Jennifer Nishizaki

    I know I’m years behind, but is there still a working link for the grab bag?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

