RSS Feed

Neapolitan dress

Posted on

I have been wanting to make another dress for my little girl since the last failure (haven’t fixed the pictures that far back yet).

This time I chose the fabrics – just some simple pink poplin.

The pattern is a tutorial that I found at Grosgrain from Tea Rose Home.

For the bodice there are two downloadable pattern pieces. It is only for one size and fits about a 5-6 year old. The top of the dress has an elasticised neckline and arms. Though I took the elastic out of the arms on my version because she complained they were too tight.

20111216-072353.jpg

The bottom of the dress is just three tiers of gathered layers.

Normally when I do gathers and tiers I just wing it often adding a lot more fabric. I think this has been why I haven’t been happy with the results. There doesn’t have to be a lot of fabric to get a full look. Especially when adding further fuller layers. Simple is often better and I forget that.

It is a good dresss. She likes it. It looks good and appears comfortable to wear. And it is pink – couldn’t go wrong there.

20111216-044009.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

